Design Thinking & Entrepreneurship

First steps toward entrepreneurial thinking for children and adolescents

The path to assertiveness, creativity and confidence in implementation opens up at an early age. The concept of design thinking with the “ovos play app” supports young people from secondary school level 1 onward from idea generation to implementation. This means that nothing stands in the way of a future with innovative, sustainable ideas.

Client
Erste Bank
Year
2020
Type
Playful Trainings

The latest edition of the FLiP Challenges is about “Entrepreneurship”. Together with Erste Bank and IFTE, we developed a concept that for the first time includes two technologies. The journey starts as usual in the browser with the “Web Challenge”, a playful introduction to entrepreneurial thinking. Afterwards, students can continue the challenge alone or as a group in the “Entrepreneurship App,” which can also be played in the browser. The app guides students through the design thinking process and shows how ideas can be successfully implemented.

© FLiP | Erste Financial Life Park

Part 1: Web Challenge with Gamification

Playful introduction to the topic of entrepreneurship.
What have others done? What can I learn from them?

  • Ideen

    Ideas

    Who’s behind them?

  • Anpacken

    Tackling the Task

    How to implement ideas?

  • Geld & Risiko

    Money & Risk

    What should I keep in mind?

  • Vorbilder

    Role Models

    What can I learn from others?

  • Selbsteinschätzung

    Self-Assessment

    How do I measure up?

  • Mein Ergebnis

    My Result

    This is me!

With the help of multimedia storytelling, we offer a mix of exciting information about entrepreneurs and their stories, and at the same time, points and badges (achievements) can be earned in three modules through gamification.

At the end of the web challenge, the students can compare their entrepreneurship knowledge with each other and also evaluate their skills and talents with a self-assessment tool.

Part 2: Design Thinking App

Identify challenges – ask the right questions – define needs – develop and implement your own ideas.

While the first part of the challenge can be optimally played alone at home in preparation for lessons or in home schooling, working in groups is recommended in the further course. The app is available free of charge in the Apple AppStore and on Google Play and is divided into three phases:

  • Design Thinking – Introduction
  • Design Thinking – Application
  • Competence check

Design thinking is a method or process for creative problem solving. The first step is to observe, identify and understand the needs of the target group. Insights gained from this are the starting point for the actual idea generation. By creating and testing prototypes at an early stage, ideas are quickly implemented and evaluated.

The focus is less on working out ideas in detail and more on extensive experimentation and gathering new insights. By repeating and alternating the different steps, an increasingly better understanding of the problem and possible solutions emerges.

In the competence check, users answer 20 questions to better assess their own skills. The evaluation is not public.

Design Thinking

For the young target group, access is very open and designed in a playful way. An explicitly desired culture of erring and intelligent learning algorithms make learning fun.

Design Thinking & Entrepreneurship

Erste Schritte zu unternehmerischem Denken für Kinder und Jugendliche

Der Weg zu Eigeninitiative, Kreativität und Umsetzungsstärke öffnet sich schon in frühen Jahren. Das Konzept von Design Thinking mit der „ovos play App“ unterstützt Jugendliche ab Sekundarstufe 1 von der Ideenfindung bis zur Umsetzung. Damit steht einer Zukunft mit innovativen, nachhaltigen Ideen nichts mehr in Wege.

Kunde
Erste Bank
Jahr
2020
Typ
Playful Trainings

In der neuesten Ausgabe der FLiP Challenges geht es um das Thema „Entrepreneurship“. Mit Erste Bank und IFTE haben wir dazu ein Konzept entwickelt, welches erstmalig zwei Technologien beinhaltet. Die Reise startet wie gewohnt im Browser mit der „Web Challenge“, ein spielerischer Einstieg in unternehmerisches Denken. Anschließend kann man die Challenge alleine oder als Gruppe in der „Entrepreneurship App“, welche auch im Browser spielbar ist, fortsetzen. Die App begleitet die Schüler*innen durch den Design Thinking Prozess und zeigt, wie Ideen erfolgreich umgesetzt werden können.

© FLiP | Erste Financial Life Park

Teil 1: Web Challenge mit Gamification

Spielerische Einführung ins Thema Entrepreneurship.
Was haben andere gemacht? Was kann ich davon lernen?

  • Ideen

    Ideen

    Wer steckt dahinter?

  • Anpacken

    Anpacken

    Wie setzt man Ideen um?

  • Geld & Risiko

    Geld & Risiko

    Was soll ich im Auge behalten?

  • Vorbilder

    Vorbilder

    Was kann ich von anderen lernen?

  • Selbsteinschätzung

    Selbsteinschätzung

    Wo stehe ich?

  • Mein Ergebnis

    Mein Ergebnis

    Hier stehe ich!

Mit Hilfe von multimedialem Storytelling bieten wir einen Mix aus spannenden Infos zu Unternehmer*innen und deren Geschichten und gleichzeitig können in drei Modulen durch Gamification auch Punkte und Badges (Auszeichnungen) erspielt werden.

Am Ende der Web-Challenge können die Schüler*innen das Entrepreneurship-Wissen untereinander vergleichen und darüber hinaus, die Fähigkeiten und Talente mit einer Selbsteinschätzung auswerten.

Teil 2: Design Thinking App

Herausforderungen erkennen – die richtigen Fragen stellen – Bedürfnisse festlegen – eigene Ideen entwickeln und umsetzen.

Während der erste Teil der Challenge optimal alleine zu Hause als Vorbereitung auf den Unterricht oder im Home-Schooling gespielt werden kann, empfiehlt sich im weiteren Verlauf die Arbeit in Gruppen. Die App steht kostenlos im Apple AppStore und bei Google Play zur Verfügung und gliedert sich in drei Phasen:

  • Design Thinking – Einführung
  • Design Thinking – Anwendung
  • Kompetenzcheck

Design Thinking ist eine Methode bzw. Prozess zur kreativen Problemlösung. Zunächst gilt es, die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppe zu beobachten, identifizieren und verstehen. Daraus gewonnene Erkenntnisse sind der Startpunkt für die eigentliche Ideenfindung. Durch frühes Erstellen und Testen von Prototypen werden Ideen schnell umgesetzt und evaluiert.

Der Fokus liegt dabei weniger auf der detailgenauen Ausarbeitung von Ideen, sondern vielmehr auf umfassendes Experimentieren und Sammeln von neuen Einsichten. Durch das Wiederholen und Abwechseln der verschiedenen Schritte entsteht ein zunehmend besseres Verständnis für das Problem und mögliche Lösungen.

Beim Kompetenzcheck beantworten die User*innen 20 Fragen um die eigenen Fähigkeiten besser einschätzen zu können. Die Auswertung ist nicht öffentlich.

Design Thinking

Für die junge Zielgruppe ist der Zugang sehr niederschwellig und auf spielerische Weise gestaltet. Eine explizit gewünschte Fehlerkultur und intelligente Lern-Algorithmen sorgen für Spaß am Lernen.