Future Choices

Storytelling makes consequences of your decisions tangible

The debt trap is a common threat – in Austria, 15% of all filings for personal bankruptcy are from people aged 30 and under. In the fourth year of the digital FLiP Challenge, the Erste Financial Life Park (FLiP) team, the Vienna Debt Counseling Service and ovos wanted to show how quickly you can get bogged down in debt, and how to break free again.

Client
Erste Bank
Year
2021
Type
Playful Trainings

This year’s edition is not called “Future Choices” for nothing: We are faced with many big choices in life, but also plenty small, seemingly trivial decisions with consequences that are not immediately visible to us. So when we started working on the concept with FLiP and the Vienna Debt Counseling Service, it quickly became clear that the focus this year would be on storytelling.

© FLiP | Erste Financial Life Park

Part 1: Storytelling-app with 8 different endings

In a dedicated ovos play app for FLiP, you’re presented with many choices – and shown their consequences.

Two young characters are available for selection at the start: Hugo, a young man from Mistelbach, Lower Austria, and Sara, a young woman from Innsbruck, Tyrol. For both characters we have prepared different paths that the players can take.

 

In their story, the two are confronted with the four most common reasons for debt at a young age:

  • Housing
  • Unemployment
  • Self-employment
  • Balancing income and expenditur

The players themselves decide which ending their story will reach – for both Sara and Hugo there are eight different futures. And it’s going to be exciting – what will be like a terrible glimpse into the future for some, will be the perfect path for others, in which they feel comfortable.

The app is available for free at the Apple AppStore and at Google Play – plus it can also be used on a PC as a web app.

Non-linear storytelling with ovos play

Together with FLiP and the Viennese debt counseling, many ideas were spun and linked. As soon as the first story tree was ready, we were able to show how perfectly storytelling can be implemented in ovos play. We presented the many possibilities for linking content along the way.

Learning through storytelling means that learners relate what is told to their own lives and anticipate future life situations in their imagination. This is exactly the approach of the FLiP Future Choices app. By immersing themselves in stories, players experience how important certain decisions are for future life and can thus experience their own history indirectly. Using the app enables an individual, self-directed learning experience.
Nina von Gayl, curator FLiP

Part 2: Future Choices Quiz Challenge

How much knowledge stuck with you while experiencing these stories? What did you learn? What do you learn about budgeting, income and expenses?

Budget planning

Why is a good budget plan a great tool to avoid losing track? What do you need to keep in mind?

Income

When pocket money, gifts, and your first salary ends up on your account, this can be overwhelming at first.

Expenses

Income should always exceed expenses – but what if it doesn’t? Often we lack understanding and overview of expenses that can be incurred.

Happy Birthday, FLiP!

Since 2017, over 100,000 pupils have visited the Financial Life Park at Erste Campus. We congratulate on the success of this initiative and wish all the best for its 5th birthday!

Future Choices

Mit Storytelling die Konsequenzen deiner Entscheidungen erlebbar machen

Die Schuldenfalle droht überall – in Österreich sind 15 % aller Anträge auf Privatkonkurs von Personen, die 30 Jahre und jünger sind. Wie schnell es gehen kann, in sie zu geraten und wie man wieder aus ihr entkommen kann, das wollte das Team des Erste Financial Life Parks (FLiP), die Wiener Schuldnerberatung und ovos im vierten Jahr der digitalen FLiP Challenge aufzeigen.

Kunde
Erste Bank
Jahr
2021
Typ
Playful Trainings

Die diesjährige Ausgabe heißt nicht umsonst “Future Choices”: Es sind manchmal große, manchmal aber auch nur scheinbar triviale Entscheidungen, deren Folgen nicht sofort sichtbar werden. Als wir uns daher an die Konzeption mit FLiP und der Wiener Schuldnerberatung machten, war rasch klar, dass in diesem Jahr der Fokus auf Storytelling liegen wird.

© FLiP | Erste Financial Life Park

Teil 1: Storytelling-App mit 8 verschiedenen Enden

In einer eigenen ovos play-App für FLiP wird man vor Entscheidungen gestellt – und ihre Konsequenzen aufgezeigt.

Zwei junge Charaktere stehen am Anfang zur Auswahl: Hugo, ein junger Mann aus Mistelbach sowie Sara, eine junge Frau aus Innsbruck. Für beide Figuren haben wir unterschiedliche Wege vorbereitet, die die Spielenden beschreiten können.

 

Die Beiden werden in ihrer Geschichte mit den vier häufigsten Gründen für Verschuldung in jungen Jahren konfrontiert: 

  • Wohnen
  • Arbeitslosigkeit
  • Selbstständigkeit
  • Umgang mit Geld und Konsum

Die Spielenden selbst entscheiden, zu welchem Ende die Geschichte kommen soll – sowohl für Sara als auch für Hugo stehen acht verschiedene Zukunftsaussichten bereit. Und es wird spannend – was für die einen wie ein furchtbarer Blick in die Zukunft sein wird, wird für andere der perfekte Weg sein, in dem sie sich wohlfühlen würden.

Die App steht kostenlos im Apple AppStore und bei Google Play zur Verfügung – außerdem kann sie auch am PC als Web-App genutzt werden.

Non-lineares Storytelling in ovos play

Gemeinsam mit FLiP und der Schuldnerberatung wurden Ideen gesponnen und verknüpft. Sobald der erste Storybaum fertig war, konnten wir zeigen, wie perfekt Storytelling in ovos play umgesetzt werden kann. Die vielen Möglichkeiten der inhaltlichen Verknüpfung haben wir auf diesem Weg dargestellt.

Lernen durch Storytelling bedeutet, dass die Lernenden das Erzählte auf ihr eigenes Leben beziehen und in der Phantasie künftige Lebenssituation vorweg nehmen. Genau dies ist der Ansatz der FLiP Future Choices App. Durch das Eintauchen in Geschichten erleben die Spielenden, wie wichtig bestimmte Entscheidungen für das zukünftige Leben sind und können ihre eigene Geschichte so indirekt erleben. Der Einsatz der App ermöglicht ein individuelles, selbstgesteuertes Lernerlebnis.
Nina von Gayl, Kuratorin FLiP

Teil 2: Future Choices Quiz Challenge

Wie viel Wissen ist beim Erleben der Geschichten hängen geblieben? Was lernt man über Budgetplanung, Einnahmen und Ausgaben?

Budget- und Haushaltsplanung

Warum ist ein guter Haushaltsplan ein tolles Hilfsmittel, um nicht den Überblick zu verlieren? Was muss man dabei beachten?

Einnahmen

Wenn mit Taschengeld, Geschenken und dem ersten Job Geld auf dem Konto landet, kann das überfordernd sein. In diesem Modul gibt es zahlreiche Quizfragen zu dem Thema.

Ausgaben

Die Einnahmen soll(t)en immer die Ausgaben übersteigen – aber was, wenn nicht? Oftmals fehlt auch das Verständnis, welche unbedachten Ausgaben auf eine*n zukommen können.

Happy Birthday, FLiP!

Seit 2017 haben über 100.000 Schülerinnen und Schüler den Financial Life Park am Erste Campus besucht. Wir gratulieren zum Erfolg dieser Initiative und wünschen alles Gute zum 5. Geburtstag!